Main Contact: 
Dawn Lambert: Dawn[dot]Lambert[at]ct[dot]gov
NWD/SEP System
Name of Operating Agency: 
Department of Social Services (DSS), Division of Health Services (DHS)
Participating types of NWD/SEPs: 
Area Agencies on Aging (AAAs); Senior Centers; local municipal social work agencies; Local Mental Health Agencies
1-800 number: 
Level I screen: 
Financial and functional screens will be hosted on the Department of Social Services' ConneCT.
Level II assessment: 
CT developed one assessment instrument that covers all domains and topics for all populations based on the interRAI HC.
Agency responsible for completing the financial assessment: 
Department of Social Services (DSS) is building ConneCT, the "Single Point of Entry for health care, programs and benefits"
Coordination/automation of referrals between levels (i.e., Level I and Level II) : 
Individuals can set up a “My Account” on ConneCT to view progress of the functional and financial assessment processes online. NWD/SEP representatives can also log onto an individual’s “My Account” to monitor progress. The system sends automated notificat
Core Standardized Assessment
Elderly individuals (age 65 or older): 
People with developmental disabilities: 
People with a serious mental illness or severe emotional disturbance: 
People with physical disabilities: 
Conflict-Free Case Management
Mitigation strategies in place/planned: 
CT identified two programs in the work plan with potential conflicts of interest: the DMHAS Waiver and the State Plan Community Mental Health Services. CT is working to develop mitigation strategies for these programs.
Service data: 

Claims data used for administrative, financial or quality control purposes.

Quality measures: 

Waiver performance measures related to service plan and delivery

For individuals with psychiatric conditions: Emergency Department utilization, rate of hospital readmission (both psychiatric and medical), and rate of successful ambulatory follow-up post psychiatric hospitalization

Outcomes data: 

MFP Quality of Life Survey
Participant Experience Survey (PES)
National Care Indicators
Self-Directed satisfaction surveys
Participant Satisfaction Survey (elder population with home care program)

Use of Enhanced FMAP: 

Core Standardized Assessment: Develop/identify and implement Level II assessments, possibly including a Level I screen

Expansion of Community LTSS:

  • Expand offerings for home and community based services
  • Support Community First Choice
  • Expand waiver slots