Main Contact: 
Deb Johnson: djohnso6[at]dhs[dot]state[dot]ia[dot]us
NWD/SEP System
Name of Operating Agency: 
Mental Health and Disability Services Division (MHDS)
Participating types of NWD/SEPs: 
AAAs/ADRCs, DHS offices and other entities
1-800 number: 
(866) 468-7887
Level I screen: 
The state developed a comprehensive Level I screen and a “warm hand-off” process to ensure that follow-up occurs with every individual entering the NWD system, as appropriate.
Level II assessment: 
IA conducted a long stakeholder vetting process to select the Level II assessments by population.
Agency responsible for completing the financial assessment: 
Conducted by Iowa Medicaid (IM) workers
Coordination/automation of referrals between levels (i.e., Level I and Level II) : 
When an individual submits a Medicaid application, the application is forwarded electronically to the appropriate NWD agency determined by the individual’s choice.
Core Standardized Assessment
Elderly individuals (age 65 or older): 
interRAI Home Care (HC)
People with developmental disabilities: 
Supports Intensity Scale (SIS)
People with a serious mental illness or severe emotional disturbance: 
Under consideration
People with physical disabilities: 
Under consideration
Conflict-Free Case Management
Mitigation strategies in place/planned: 
As the state is moving to managed care for the community LTSS population, it will comply with CMS-related requirements.
Service data: 

Claims data 

Quality measures: 

The Member Survey, Provider Reviews, and Service Plan Reviews are used across all populations.

Outcomes data: 

Member Survey is already implemented; Regional/ADRC data and Employment Report are under development.

Use of Enhanced FMAP: 

IA has spent funds to support the structural changes, increase provider rates by 2 percent, and expand the number of individuals receiving services through the 1915(i).