Main Contact: 
Rebecca Oliver: rebeccal[dot]oliver[at]maryland[dot]gov
NWD/SEP System
Name of Operating Agency: 
Maryland Department of Aging
Participating types of NWD/SEPs: 
20 Maryland Access Points (MAPs)
1-800 number: 
Level I screen: 
Approximately 31 questions allow MD to assess an individual’s needs early in the process. Through this information, MD hopes to better manage its interest list, prioritizing individuals at risk of institutionalization.
Level II assessment: 
MD adapted the interRAI Home Care for the Elderly and Physical Disability population. For the DD population, MD recently selected the SIS and HRST. For the BH population, MD uses the DLA-20.
Agency responsible for completing the financial assessment: 
MAP staff may support the individual in filling out the Medicaid application on the SAIL (Service Access and Information Link) website.
Coordination/automation of referrals between levels (i.e., Level I and Level II) : 
LTSS Maryland is an automated system that captures Level I screen, Level II assessment, and financial eligibility data. This system promotes efficiency because the Level I screen data pre-populate the Level II assessment.
Core Standardized Assessment
Elderly individuals (age 65 or older): 
interRAI Home Care (HC)
People with developmental disabilities: 
Supports Intensity Scale (SIS); Health Risk Screening Tool (HRST)
People with a serious mental illness or severe emotional disturbance: 
Modified DLA-20
People with physical disabilities: 
interRAI Home Care (HC)
Conflict-Free Case Management
Mitigation strategies in place/planned: 
Maryland has established strategies to make sure their programs are free of conflict. Strategies include extra oversight and removing the providers from the assessment loop by having the local health departments (LHDs) do the reviews or redeterminations.
Service data: 

Claims data is used for administrative, financial or quality control purposes.

Quality measures: 

MFP Quality of Life Survey, Quality Care Review (QCR) Report, DHMH QCR Report

Outcomes data: 

National Core Indicators (NCI)

Use of Enhanced FMAP: 

Maryland is spending its enhanced FMAP on piloting assessment instruments, expanding existing community LTSS by increasing waiver slots for the Waiver for Older Adults, increasing rates for case management providers, funding the Maryland Access Points, developing an LTSS eligibility tracking system, and funding the start-up and administration of Community First Choice.